Portrait of a Framer

The Framer’s Portrait

Portrait of a Framer

Portrait of a Framer

Recently I’ve been graciously given a part-time job as a custom framer.  While I’ve worked at this frame shop before, the old adage of “use it or lose it” has proven itself true, and I’m having to remember and relearn a lot of things.  (It’s been about four years!)  My boss emailed me a video that covered a good amount of framing basics (mainly which materials, mats, glass, etc. to use for different items).  I learned a few things and remembered others!

So while waiting for the video to load (and admittedly, while it was playing), I drew a couple of the speakers.  There was something about this one’s eyes that looked happy or gentle, so that was an interesting thing to try to capture.  Unfortunately, the others I sketched came out terribly.  (I chose not to upload them.  The last thing I want to do is offend these ladies with my awkward portrait-drawing skillz if they happen to stumble across this blog!)

Leave a Reply

