The Renaissance Spaniard

The Renaissance Spaniard

Renaissance Spaniard

The Wonky-Eyed Renaissance Spaniard

Renaissance costumes in general are interesting; for a lazy artist such as myself, they tend to have enough details to make the outfit interesting, yet not so much that they make me cry trying to draw it all.  And the silhouettes are usually quite nice.  Now hopefully, this really is a Spanish Renaissance outfit and not from another location.  If this is historically inacurrate, I apologize–for I am a lazy, lazy researcher!

I haven’t used colored pencils “seriously” for such a long time… it’s definitely much easier to color skin tones with paint than with colored pencils!  So sorry that he looks sunburned and dirty. :B

Here’s my reference for this particular outfit, thanks to the website karenswhimsy.com!  I love his happy face.

One thought on “The Renaissance Spaniard

  1. Pingback: Alférez del Tercio | Messy Sketchbook

Leave a Reply

